Interview with writer and blogger Papatia Feauxzar

PAPATIA_AVATAR-1 (1)

As part of this month’s theme, I wanted to interview someone who could tell us their struggle on the path of attaining a goal they had. Last month, we spoke about hobbies; our hobbies can often turn into bigger projects, as was the case for writer and blogger Papatia Feauxzar.

Papatia is a mother of one spirited boy, Alhamdullilah. She is an accountant working from home but also a writer and blogger. She is a self proclaimed hopeless romantic wife Masha’Allah.  A lover of flowers, tea, good food, de-stressing with laughter and animals. Last but not least, she loves Allah immeasurably, Alhamdullilah.

What made you want to be a writer?

I’m very fond of storytelling. I excitedly listened to elders tell me stories when I was a child. Now, I’m all grown up yet still a child at heart, I wanted to tell my own stories. So, I started writing and publishing them. My latest one, The Ducktrinors, is a mixture of a dream I had, past oral stories, Sunnah traditions, and historical Islamic reference.


Talk us through the process of putting a story together

First I take notes of any instant inspirations I get. I write them down quickly because if I do not, I forget. Then, I write a one page synopsis based on the notes and the story develops around that skeleton. I do not always stick to the skeleton. I often add or delete to it. But – I always know how my stories will end.

What struggles have you encountered during this process? How did you overcome these?

Sometimes, I struggle to make a story believable so I have to do a lot of research. For instance, if you are going to talk about whichcraft and that you set the story in Texas people will look at you with googly eyes. On the other hand, if you set such a story in Louisiana or perhaps Massachusetts. Readers might actually believe you because it will make sense because of the history of voodoo in Louisiana and the witch hunt in Massachusetts. But you can set a spy story in Dallas and be okay.

Also, when I face writer’s block. I watch a movie or read a story and I get more ideas.

Have you always read books?

As a matter of fact, yes! I have read academic books, entertainment books, science books. You name it. What I notice from all these diverse writers is that they used humor to make a boring subject interesting. For instance, my accounting books were always easy to read because they included jokes, anecdotes etc. It helps the reader learn and relax.

What advice would you have to sisters about making reading a habit?

Just don’t read one genre. Broaden your experience and enrich your world with a diversity of genres. It trains the mind to unlock itself. It’s also inspiring. He who has knowledge is respected for it’s power.

Read also: 7 tips to develop a habit reading

Any final words?

Thank you for having me. You can find me on twitter (@Daisy1434), facebook, and my website. My latest book can be purchased through amazon here.

Original Post

30 comments

  1. Papatia · March 9, 2016

    Reblogged this on Between Sisters, SVP!.

    Like

  2. Emma White (@TheRealSupermum) · March 11, 2016

    Writing a book has always been a lifelong ambition of mine so love to hear about others have done it as it inspires to me to think one day

    Liked by 1 person

    • Papatia · March 11, 2016

      You should and inspire others with your experience :), xxx.

      Like

  3. Sarah Bailey · March 11, 2016

    I would love to write a book, it keeps coming to mind more and more, perhaps I should jump in and give it a whirl 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Georgina Prince · March 11, 2016

    I admire everyone, who manages to write any type of book themselves, I love blogging but I don’t think i would have the discipline to keep going or possibly the imagination for it lol x

    Liked by 1 person

    • Papatia · March 11, 2016

      It’s a challenge and just make thing happen by squeezing them here and here haha! 🙂 x

      Like

  5. Angela Milnes · March 11, 2016

    What a lovely post. I am working on writing a book and hope for this to be a success alongside my blogging.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Papatia · March 11, 2016

      Thx! Wishing all best with your writing career too 🙂 xx.

      Like

  6. Elizabeth · March 12, 2016

    A lovely post! Best of luck with your writing career! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Rhian Westbury · March 12, 2016

    Lovely interview, best of luck with writing and broadening your storytelling horizons x

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Laura Hartley (@WhatsHotBlog) · March 12, 2016

    Writing things down quickly is so important! I always say to myself “I’ll remember later”, but of course I forget!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Papatia · March 12, 2016

      Yup! >_< so many good ideas I had went down the drain like that :/

      Like

  9. Claire'scomfycorner · March 12, 2016

    What a great interview, it’s fab to find out more about authors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. The Nice Nest · March 12, 2016

    I admire people who sit down and write a book for their dedication. A lot of us think about it but doing it is another matter. I liked your tip to read a diverse selection of genres, it’s always good to challenge yourself a bit.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Tanya Brannan · March 13, 2016

    What a fabulous interview! I would love to write a book, as I can’t get enough of writing my blog! Not too sure where to start though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Papatia · March 14, 2016

      Start by brainstorming and joining writers’ clubs 🙂 xx

      Like

  12. Anosa · March 13, 2016

    I agree, whilst we all have our favorite genre its always good to explore. You never know you might just find a new favorite book!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Rebecca Smith · March 13, 2016

    Would love to write a book. Loved finding out more about you, Papatia x

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ana De Jesus · March 13, 2016

    I would love to read an extract or review the book for you if you would like? I have always loved reading so I wouldn’t mind and so lovely to hear about your relationship with your son and husband!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Dannii @ Hungry Healthy Happy · March 14, 2016

    I think that all good writers have notes of inspiration all around their house 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I love that you started your blog out of wanting to share your own stories, its great how we’re influenced by others in our lives xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

